A Chat with Tony Germinario ( @tonygerm ) – Writer/Director of Bad Frank ( @badfrankmovie )

Lets have an online chat with Tony Germinario – Writer/Director of Bad Frank

The Indie underdog making a worldwide impact, finally coming to VOD 7/7.

Pre-Order Bad Frank on iTunes: 

Headlined with a true Breakout Performance by Award-Winner Kevin Interdonato, and featuring electric support from Amanda Clayton (Bleed For This), Tom Sizemore (Twin Peaks, Saving Private Ryan, HEAT), Brian OHalloran (Clerks and Clerks 2), and boxing icon Ray ‘Boom-Boom’ Mancini, BAD FRANK has become a majorly sought after Film this year, and acquired by heavyweight Foreign Rep, Lotus Entertainment.

Frank Pierce (played by Interdonato) leads a seemingly normal life, but when a disturbing past re emerges and something precious is taken from him, his mask of sanity loosens and unearths the urge to be violent once again.

With countless Best Film and Best Actor accolades in US and Europe, and heralded by JoBlo.com as, ‘Nastily Entertaining 2017’s mightiest Independent feature sits with viewers for days.

BAD FRANK hits the U.S. Market on iTunes July 4th. Pre-Order now.

Though this is your first feature, I can assume it wasn’t the first thing you’ve written. Can you talk about earlier scripts you wrote?

Sure. The first script I wrote was awful. The next one a little less awful, and I just kept going until they got decent enough to share with people. Eventually I got some recognition in contests, and then I was hired by Choice Skinner to write a script and I was then a “professional”!

Did you write Bad Frank with a budget in-mind?

Yes. I knew it had to be cheap, so I wrote the script with a lot of locations in mind because I knew I could get them for free. I’ve got some of the best friends in the world because they loaned me their houses, their businesses, etc., and let me film not knowing what the hell I was really going to be doing. Fortunately, they were all happy with the results.

What about actors? Did you envision certain actors playing certain roles while scripting the film?

Well, Kevin was the person I wanted for Bad Frank. I’ve known him for a while and I knew he had the intensity the part needed. Other than that, we knew all the other actors. They only part that was different was Mickey Duro. I originally saw someone a lot less confident and intimidating to play the part, but that was done purposefully. When we had a chance to get Tom Sizemore for it, how can you say no? He absolutely slayed that part.

Was the script completed quickly or over a period of time?

We did the whole thing in just 11 ½ days. We didn’t have time to mess around, so we just went to work.

Did it change much between drafts? What things did you refine or add/subtract as the script was perfected?

The original draft was mainly around a kidnapping taking place in a basement with two roles, Frank and Crystal. Once Kevin was brought on board, the script evolved into closer to what you see on screen today. Then what you saw on screen is different than the final draft because the actors brought so much to their performances. They really lived those parts.

Did you have anyone look over it after you were done – a mentor, maybe?

Peter Dobson was a great help. Pete is someone that knows everyone in Hollywood and is a fantastic actor along with being a fantastic guy. He latched on to Frank very early and had been a great coach and mentor.

Where did you learn to write and direct?

I don’t have any formal training. I studied a lot of scripts and read a lot of books. For directing, I watched some people on set, tried to absorb as much as I could from some people I know, and then I just figure the rest out on set. That’s why I try and surround myself with really smart people who are way more experienced than I am.

Is there anything you did on Bad Frank that you won’t do on the next one? Or was it all smooth sailing? We were very fortunate that it was very smooth sailing.

When you have only 11 ½ days, it has to be. I’d say 99% of it was smooth. The other one percent I’ll talk about in my first autobiography.

Is there a moment in the film you’re most proud of?

Honestly, I’m proud of the whole thing. From beginning to end. If I had to pick one shot, I love the drone shot of the car turning around in the parking lot at night. We were lucky that we got rain at the absolute most appropriate times during a night shoot, and this one shot is absolutely sick. I love it.

 

Leave a Reply

