Spending Time With…John Foutz ( @johnfoutz )

Where on earth do I start to talk about John Foutz. I have known this man for a few years now but we have never met. We have however spoken for dozens upon dozens of hours about most things film related. From films that John watches, to films that John works on (in a wide variety of roles such as actor, voiceover, cinematographer, producer, and editor) John is also the designer of my FromPage2Screen logo which he so graciously allows me to use on pretty much everything I do.

I could never do a ‘Spending Time With…; series without including John in there somehow and it was a no brainer for me to send these questions over to him to see what his answers were. You can check out Johns filmography by clicking the IMDB logo below.

Is there a book that you have reread more than any other?

“The Plutonium Blonde” by John Zakour and Lawrence Ganem

Favourite Childhood TV show growing up?

Rerun: Batman

Broadcast: Wonderful World of Disney (Logan’s Run was fun and Battlestar Galactica)

What’s the most ‘starstruck’ you have been?

Meeting Erin Gray at Dragon Con years ago. She still looked like she did on “Buck Rogers”.

What’s your most memorable ‘fan’ encounter?

Jet Eller, an old school filmmaker (http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0253953/?ref_=nv_sr_1), loaned me the camera we shot “Bird in a Glass House” with. He said he had been wanting to work with me. Yes, I kept his camera for 6 weeks during production.

What was one of the most memorable films you saw as a child?

Star Wars, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Superman, and Star Trek The Motion Picture

What do you find the hardest part of your creative process?

Funding.

What is one of the best pieces of advice you can remember being given?

I think it was simply a mix of being stubborn about what I wanted to do and knowing that my cousin had written for TV (he also grew up next door to Steve Martin and they have remained great friends) and my dad’s friend was the nephew of Richard Zanuck (talked with him on the phone. Very gracious) and my friend Tony Craig who worked for Disney. I visited sets on the Warner Brothers lot, etc. I guess I knew anything was possible if you never gave up.

When it comes to watching films? Physical Media or Digital?

I enjoy both loading discs and watching digital, but the physical media makes me feel more confident that I will be able to share my favorite movies.

Let’s say the same for music?  Digital or Physical?

Digital all the way. I used to buy CDs, but iTunes makes impulse purchases so much easier!

If you could change one thing about the industry you are in, what would it be?

Level the playing field with lower budgets and easier distribution

What is one of your favourite current TV shows? (or let’s say in the past 10 years)

Legends of Tomorrow

Are you a video gamer? If so, what’s your console of choice?

LOL! Xbox360 until I get a One.

Do you read reviews of shows that you are in?

It didn’t happen often, but it’s always interesting to hear/read what others saw in my work.

If you had to make a bucket list of people you’d love to work with, tell me one name who would be on it?

Jennifer Lawrence. She’s so far in character, I believe her performance 100% every time.

What is one of your most favourite locations you have filmed in?

Upstate NY.

What film always makes you laugh?

Midnight Run, The hangover, Guardians of the Galaxy (“I’m distracting you, you big turd blossom!”)

What film do you love that you feel most people might not be aware of?

Sunshine and Moon

How do you prepare for an audition?

I completely Han Solo it. I go in like I’m confident and respectful but play it off like I don’t need the job.

“Uh, everything’s under control. Situation normal . . . Uh, we had a slight weapons malfunction, but uh… everything’s perfectly all right now. We’re fine. We’re all fine here now, thank you. How are you?”

In your creative roles? What is the longest day that you’ve ever had?

Single-handedly pushing “The New Adventures of Captain Fluoride” animated series forward. 18-20 hour days at the computer for weeks.

Do you have any ‘props or keepsakes from your films?

Yes. I used to use my leather jacket in all the films, like Sam Raimi and his car, but the jacket started wearing out. I still have spy gear from an early film noir short film, the security cameras form the first movie I directed, the knife that “killed” the lead in “Bird in a Glass House”, plenty of guns, Dr scrubs, Sherriff’s outfit, and plenty of pistols.

What excites you most about the film world today?

When I find a movie that actually has a story to tell. Yes, I enjoy the mindless action/scifi/horror movies, but I like to forget about the technical side of how they made a movie and truly escape.

Is there one person who you feel has made you are today?

While I had encouraging parents growing up (my dad let me shoot short films with his 8mm film camera) and my family has encouraged me over the years, the one person who never gave up on me is Vanelle (http://www.imdb.me/vanelle). Extremely talented and has always believed in me, even when I occasionally doubted myself.

What is your proudest achievement?

I guess that would be “The New Adventures of Captain Fluoride” animated series. “Dirt Cheap Therapy” would be next in line.

What was one of the first music albums you can remember buying?

I remember singles (45’s as we used to call them) more than albums because I would ride my bike to the music store (Albemarle Music Store) and tape the bag of singles I bought (on credit . . . thanks to it being a small town) to the frame and head back home. Not sure what my first one was, but I was probably 10 years old. I think “Close Encounters of the Third Kind” was my first album (I can remember how the tubes of the amp smelled when they heated up as they played the vinyls . . .), but I remember unwrapping Van Halen 2 and playing it over and over. I had my Aria sunburst Les Paul (my first guitar) and I tried to learn Eddie’s riffs.

Have you ever gotten someone’s autograph? Which is the most memorable for you?

I don’t think I have any, except for the ultra cool Christmas gift you sent this Christmas! Although, my kids thought is was so funny when people would ask me for my autograph. And that I had a specific “autograph signature”!

How many movies do you think you watch a year?

Maybe 3-4 in theater, maybe 100 at home.

(John Foutz and Jake Almond’s Waxing Cinematic Podcast can be found on Itunes)

I wish to extend my thanks to John for taking the time for Spending Time With… me,  Not only in this article but for the insane amount of hours we have spent podcasting together on The Movie Show.

If youd like to participate in the ‘Spending Time With…’ series then please get in touch with me via Twitter ( @frompage2screen ) or email at frompage2screen@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

