Spending Time With… Actor Kris Johnson @kris_johnson1 #supportindiefilm

I’ve been a fan of this guys work for a couple of years now, and whilst his screen credits go back only to 2011, he has a great future ahead and great present  and past filmography with powerful roles in the films Hooligan Legacy, and Undercover Hooligan which proudly sit on my DVD collection downstairs. as well as smaller roles in films such as Dominic Burn’s Airborne and Eran Creevy’s Welcome to the Punch.

I had the chance to send over the Spending Time With.. questions to Kris Johnson who took some time to answer the ever popular ‘questions for my site and channels.

Whilst many of you might be familiar with my filmed project ‘Spending Time With…’ ( http://www.imdb.com/title/tt5884988/?ref_=nv_sr_1 ) that is due out this year. I also realise that its near impossible for me to sit down and chat with everyone I would like to sit with so I figured that I would send out a list of questions to some creative souls, in the hope that they would find the time to let me see what it was like ‘Spending Time With…’ them.

Is there a book that you have reread more than any other? –

I love a book called ‘creed’ by James Herbert , really disturbing and impossible to put down

Favourite Childhood TV show growing up?

Would have to say The A-Team

What’s the most ‘starstruck’ you have been?

I don’t normally get star struck if I’m honest , but I definitely was when meeting Rik Mayall on set of a film 2009

What is one of the best pieces of advice you can remember being given?

Definitely travel while you can , I got to see some amazing places in the world

When it comes to watching films? Physical Media or Digital?

Definitely digital media , It so much easier

If you could change one thing about the industry you are in, what would it be?

That the lists casting directors work from were more open to new talent

What is one of your favourite current TV shows? (or let’s say in the past 10 years)

I really enjoy Broadchurch and loved the 2 part Moorside drama with Gemma Whelan and Sheridan Smith

Are you a video gamer? If so, what’s your console of choice?

I have become a bit of a gamer due to my son having a ps4, we play Fifa a lot, but I purchased GTA v for myself to play online which is quite addictive

Do you read reviews of shows that you are in?

Yes I can’t help it, I’m lucky to of had mainly positive reviews but you can’t always please everyone

If you had to make a bucket list of people you’d love to work with, tell me one name who would be on it?

I would love to work with Gary Oldman or Jack Nicholson

What is one of your most favourite locations you have filmed in?

Southend , it’s my town as was very convenient for filming

What film always makes you laugh?

I love The Hangover and Anchorman , more recently I enjoyed Bad Neighbours

What film do you love that you feel most people might not be aware of?

Nil by mouth, it’s the film that confirmed to me I wanted to be an actor

How do you prepare for an audition?

I learn my lines as well as everyone else’s then record entire scenes playing each role and listen and watch back and find flaws, auditions still make me incredibly nervous

In your creative roles? What is the longest day that you’ve ever had?

I have shot for up to 18-19 hours in one day …and been due back on set 5 hours later

Do you have any ‘props or keepsakes from your films?

I keep most of the clothes I get given for costume. I was lucky enough to have my costume supplied by Merc Clothing on the last 2 films so I got a whole new wardrobe  (thanks Merc)

What excites you most about the film world today?

Independent films are becoming so much more accessible and are able to share the same platforms as the big budget films

Is there one person who you feel has made you who you are today?

Would have to be my son

What is your proudest achievement?

My son Kaci

What was one of the first music albums you can remember buying?

I think my first album was a gravediggaz album ‘6 feet deep’

Have you ever gotten someone’s autograph? Which is the most memorable for you?

I think I may of asked for footballers autograph as a kid , I have a bottle of champagne with Kevin Keegan;s autograph somewhere

How many movies do you think you watch a year?

I watch at least 2-3 a week , so we’ll over 100

I wish to extend my thanks to Kris for taking the time for Spending Time With… me

You can follow Kris on Twitter @kris_johnson1

If youd like to participate in the ‘Spending Time With…’ series then please get in touch with me via Twitter ( @frompage2screen ) or email at frompage2screen@gmail.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

