Spending Time With Actress Nicola Posener @NicolaPosener #supportindiefilm

I had the chance to send over a short list of questions to Actress, Nicola Posener whos filmography is about as diverse as you can get, Ranging from a series regular on the hit UK Disney Channel series  ‘Life Bites’,, to being the Female lead Teela, in the award winning 5-part fantasy franchise ‘Mythica’. Also stars Kevin Sorbo (Hercules). But I remember her first off from some of the wonderful British films that I cover such as Payback Season (also starring Leo Gregory), The Hooligan Wars (starring  Nick Nevern), Twenty8k (starring Parminder Nagra) to name just a few. Nicola has a wonderful filmography that shows no sign of slowing down (and nor should it) With at least 11 projects all date stamped as 2017. Its a very busy year for Nicola Posener. But thankfully she took a little time away from the camera to answer the ever popular ‘Spending Time With…’ questions for my site and channels.

Whilst many of you might be familiar with my filmed project ‘Spending Time With…’ ( http://www.imdb.com/title/tt5884988/?ref_=nv_sr_1 ) that is due out this year. I also realise that its near impossible for me to sit down and chat with everyone I would like to sit with so I figured that I would send out a list of questions to some creative souls, in the hope that they would find the time to let me see what it was like ‘Spending Time With…’ them.

Favourite Childhood TV show growing up? 

That would be a rather undiscovered gem called ‘The Tribe’. It was a children’s television show produced and filmed in New Zealand that I re-call being broadcast for Channel 5. It was post-apocalyptic series, entirely cast with teenagers, a world with no-one beyond the age of 21. As a child I was hooked. Clearly into my sci-fi from early on.

What’s your most memorable ‘fan’ encounter?

I adore my fans, they are the most supportive and lovely people. In fact my most memorable encounters have been online rather than meeting as Comic Cons. The fantastic fans of Mythica are super passionate and smart and have created an online fan group entitled ‘Mythica Musings’. On a weekly basis they celebrate ‘Teela Tuesday’ and dedicated fan videos, art, poetry, short stories to my character as well as my portrayal of that role. It really is quite brilliant!

What was one of the most memorable films you saw as a child?

Matilda was a regular in my house-hold, most Roahl Dahl classics were favorites of mine when made for the big screen. It was captivating, magical and had a fantastic message

What is one of the best pieces of advice you can remember being given?

This is very much industry related advice but one of my co-stars from the Disney Series Life Bites I worked on once said to me, everyone has their time. For me it took away the pressure of trying to achieve a certain career status in a short time frame. My career is for the long haul and so that advice I translated to working hard, making good choices with my projects and ultimately my time will come. Its fantastic when you can look ahead with focus feeling confident that you’re headed in the right direction.

When it comes to watching films? Physical Media or Digital?

Digital, the modern age.

What is one of your favourite current TV shows? (or let’s say in the past 10 years) 

My current favorites would have to be ‘3%’, ‘Travelers’ and ‘Frequency’. All available on Netflix. All time travel related.

If you had to make a bucket list of people you’d love to work with, tell me one name who would be on it?

Oh my goodness, so many filmmakers I look up to that I would love to have the honor of working with. With directors in mind, Tim Burton would be top of my list. Based upon her sheer talent and endless wisdom Meryl Streep would be a top choice.

What is one of your most favourite locations you have filmed in?

Without a shadow of a doubt my favorite location to shoot in was UT. We shot all 5 Mythica feature film on location throughout UT making the most of the incredible vast desert landscape. We filmed on snowy mountain peaks, lava tubes, red rock deserts, beautiful green forests. Every day was an incredible exploration.

What film always makes you laugh?

Oh gosh, okay, a favorite comedy that combines a few of my favorite genres would be the rather underrated 2006 film ‘Idiocracy’ with Dax Shepard and Maya Rudolph. Both wonderful, brilliant, hilarious and charming on screen.

How do you prepare for an audition?

Pilot season is usually the most difficult time when preparing for an audition as time is against you. Often you will have less than a day to learn 8-12 pages of dialogue. More often than not you have a few days to prepare. The most important element is understanding. I’ll read the whole film/episode, understand the story and the character and then go ahead and learn the dialogue. Once I have a sense of the character as well as the dialogue memorized that is when I can explore the possibilities with the delivery to really bring the scene to life.

In your creative roles? What is the longest day that you’ve ever had?

I’ll take a guess at a 17 hour day, I’ve had a few of those recently on current projects.

Do you have any ‘props or keepsakes from your films?

I wish I kept the Teela pendant from the Mythica films, alas it wasn’t to be, I may have a couple of the prop medieval coins somewhere. I was misadvised by our half-elf thief!

What excites you most about the film world today?

The possibilities are endless, specifically with technology. There are so many ways of telling stories with film, digital, stop-motion animation, 3D technology. I recently attended a masterclass with the Director Tom Ford who discussed the possibility of casting a film with actors who are alive as well as passed. Its a rather far fetched prospect but entirely plausible. Exciting and both a little peculiar. The technology is most certainly there.

What is your proudest achievement?

One of my proudest achievements was being selected by BAFTA Los Angeles to join there selective mentoring programme out here in Los Angeles. They select a very small few each year to guide and mentor and ultimately become the next generation of filmmakers to represent their prestigious establishment.

What’s the most ‘starstruck’ you have been?

I’ve never been starstruck as such however I did visit the ‘Two Broke Girls’ set last week to see my friend acting in the show. He kindly gave me a backstage tour where I met the equally wonderful and hilarious Jennifer Coolidge. I’m a big fan of her work and I must confess I was rather shy-very unlike me.

If you could change one thing about the industry you are in, what would it be?

Striving for equality is very much a prominent issue in today’s society and certainly in this industry. Equality in terms or race, gender, age, income, the list goes on. I wish the industry would continue making steps forward to ensure total transparency and honesty to ensure the industry is open to accepting a new wave of passionate, talented filmmakers no matter what background they come from.

You can say hi to Nicola on Twitter @NicolaPosener

Check out her IMDB Resume here

Many thanks to Nicola for taking the time to help me with this article, 

 

Leave a Reply

